And so it begins

I think I have Aaron Sorkin to thank for this blog finally starting. Or at least The Social Network. As I was working late last night, I had The Social Network on in the background and it got me to thinking. I’ve always had a sizable opinion of myself, but not over much to show for it. A bachelors diploma from Michigan State University hangs on my wall, which I’m immensely proud of, but there don’t seem to be many in the greater Washington region who agree.

It got me thinking about what I want in my life, and whether I have the drive and ambition necessary to get there. I’ve known for awhile what I want. But the path to get there hasn’t been clear at all.

Since I was in high school, the way the world interacts with itself has fascinated me. I got my degree from MSU in international relations, and I want nothing more than to be able to really affect the policies that I see going on around me. I want to be as well known a name as Marc Lynch, Anne-Marie Slaughter and Andrew Exum, thought of as an expert. Not for the nerdy fame that comes along with it, but because I really would like to be able to have an impact on this world. I like to think of myself as a constructivist, and the thought that one person can make a difference, one leader, one thinker, one idea, that appeals to me. It doesn’t hurt that too much of realism and liberalism make sense for me to choose between the two.

How to actually prove that I’m able to tackle those ideas though? The way I see is by having other people say that you know what you’re talking about and that comes in one of two ways. With a piece of paper hanging on your wall or with your thoughts out there being passed around by other people who know what they’re talking about. The former I’m actually seriously looking into for the first time. The latter stands before you. So that’s what this blog is about: proving to myself first that I can actually walk the walk and can put together the sort of strings of thought that not only make sense to me but other people as well. Over the next however long, I’d like to focus on international politics primarily with a secondary look at domestic politics. The two are so intertwined, and my interest in both so great, that I can’t see writing about just one or the other.

And so begins a project, one that I don’t know will take off, or even go in the direction that I want it to, but I’ve been talking about and thinking about doing this forever. It will make my father happy, that’s for sure. He’s been on my case about writing more since I could hold a pencil, so this one goes out to him.

2 Responses to “And so it begins”

  1. Who are you?? I’m happy to respond to your posts but not to an anonymous person.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

